The Fear and Benefit of Exercise on Chronic Pain in USA Today

This is a great article published this week about the benefits of overcoming the fear of movement after an injury.  The article states: “When people in pain get up the courage to exercise, they are often pleasantly surprised: In a 2008 survey of more than 14,000 subscribers to Consumer Reports, the top-rated measure to help relieve back pain was exercise.” The article also talks about some of the emerging studies on acupuncture relieving chronic pain.  Well worth the read.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/02/02/chronic-pain-treatment/4737647/

4 Comments Add yours

  1. You are absolutely right and what works for one person may provide little relief for another. I had a conversation with a physical therapist once and I told her I had recently tried cranial sacral therapy, although there isn’t a lot of science on the treatment, but what it did for me was to sync my mind and breathing—a form of meditation so to speak. She told me something that I always carry with me and that was “if it gives you momentary relief than maybe the science will catch up and maybe it won’t but it gives you relief.” I heard a conversation with a neurologist and he said the brain was like mars or the moon. There is still so much to explore about it and that is really exciting and comforting to me in a way. And what you say about your body makes perfect sense. To me, my body has a lot of noise. Some days, it is just a drone and a hum and a hurt. Other days, it is loud, banging, clattering and I do my best to get that hum back. So, for you to say that pain is like another person who is always with you makes complete sense to me.

  2. What a brilliant article written, thank you for finding and sharing that, I have just discovered your blog, very happy to of as well 🙂

    1. Thank you for your comment and for reading and following my blog. I am happy you liked the article. I found it interesting because it addressed the apprehension that many people with pain experience about being active and because it revealed how new research is constantly emerging about the treatment of pain disorders and how much is still needed to understand it.

      1. Yes and pain is so complex and each person so different. To me my pain is almost like a person constantly with me that might sound weird? Sometimes I call it a burglar trying to take bits of me and I just slam the door in his face on a good day heh

Leave a Reply

