Hope is Hanging on the Foot of the Moon Tonight

frozen flowers

Hope is Hanging on the Foot of the Moon Tonight

C. Luepkes, 2014

My hope is hanging on the foot of the moon tonight

Isn’t it beautiful?

There it is dangling

The substance of dreams

Of mind and spirit

And what happens in between

You know, there is also some sweetness

A work in progress

Like a garden packed with thick snow

That’s hope, you know

Delicate like tiny frozen eggshell blossoms

It is there sometimes

Slipping.  Slipping.

Like ranks of waves on the seashore

And the little man sitting up there

On that crescent moon

Is waiting. Waiting

Kicking his legs back and forth

Humming “The Battle Hymn of the Republic”

That’s hope, you know

You’ll meet him somehow

Focus. Focus

Look up to the skies

Put him under your pillow

To serve your head at night

Poem written by author of this blog

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Then, in June, I used to be identified with prediabetes pursuing a program actual physical. The very best issue to avoid complete blown diabetes is workout, and getting at a nutritious meiztang. So now I have to help keep on going! My nutritionist counsel obtaining an application to watch my meals and workout, which can be what brought me to this website. Currently, I am at 166 lb, which is about where I need to become. My next purpose is always to bulk up my muscular tissues somewhat (muscle mass have plenty of insulin receptors 😉 ) so I am setting up to lift weighty. And that i have switched out the elliptical for operating on my non-gym days since it’s gotten a little bit cooler below in Memphis.

  2. tlohuis says:

    Hi there, my dear friend. Thank you for all your kind words. I’ll be okay. I sure hope you are okay after your scare yesterday. Not having such a good day today. I was awake until 2:00 a.m. this morning and woke up about 1:15 p.m. for a little bit and went back to sleep for a few hours and have now been awake for awhile with a heating pad to my abdomen, as I am in great pain. Nothing new, just part of my “usual” stuff. Another day spent in bed, but I do have an appointment in the morning which will force me to get up out of bed, regardless. I’m also planning on spending the weekend with my mom, so I’m really looking forward to that. She has a spare bedroom and I’ll be able to just lounge around on the couch during the day and spend time with her. It’ll be nice to get out of the house. She only lives about 5 minutes away, but I don’t get to spend as much time with her as I’d like, so every now and again I’ll go spend a night or two with her. We have a lot of fun together. It will be good for both of us. Thank you for sharing that song with me. I did find it very beautiful and soothing. Hope you get to feeling “better” soon, my dear friend. I hope you sleep well tonight and have a great day tomorrow.
    Peace and hugs,
    Tammy:)

  3. tlohuis says:

    Hi there, my friend. Thank you for your condolences. I could be feeling better, but it could always be worse. I’m feeling better than I did yesterday, emotionally, anyway. Death is never easy on anyone. It’s just going to take some time, but I’ll be okay and try to focus on all the good times I had with her and to remember that she is in a better place now, reunited with loved ones that went before she did and she’s no longer in pain and suffering. For that I have to be happy. I have to be thankful for the time I was blessed to have with her and know that I will see her again. Those are my beliefs, anyway.
    The time with my friend was amazing. Such a great distraction from all the pain and misery and I felt good and held up all four days she was here. I then got sick again with this bronchitis. I was well for exactly one week before it all started all over again. Luckily the week I was “well” was when my friend was here. Thank you for asking.
    How have you been doing? You doing okay? I hope you’re having a good day, today. I’ll talk to you soon.
    Peace,
    Tammy:)

    1. Tammy, I am so sorry for all that you have gone through. I hope you are taking the time to heal both physically and emotionally. Loss is never easy to reconcile or find resolution; rather and in my opinion, it is about making and searching for peace and remembering the meaning that person brought to your life. Having a weaken immune system combined with stress is the perfect storm for illness. I wish you a quick recovery and I’m sending you healing thoughts. I had a bit of a health scare yesterday but I am feeling better. Although I can’t seem to find relief from pain resulting from a nerve compression in my neck. Anyway, I was listening to this song earlier today and I thought you may find it as equally beautiful and moving:

  4. I love this I wish my children could understand it. I love the idea

    1. Thank you for your beautiful comment. It really touched me. I am honored that you would say that.

      1. thank you for writing such things 🙂

  5. tlohuis says:

    Very nice poem. How have you been doing, lately? I haven’t been on WP too much because of illness, company, and unfortunately, a death in the family. I hope you are doing “well” my friend. Take care.
    Peace,
    Tammy:)

    1. Hi Tammy. Thank you for your comment. I’m so sorry about your loss. How are you feeling? How was your time with your friend?

Leave a Reply

