Poem for my Former Self

photo taken by author of this blog.
photo taken by author of this blog.

Poem for my Former Self

C. Luepkes (2014)

There are these fragments of you in me

Your passion, your kindness, and your beautiful dreams

Three kinds of melody, I guess

I remember those old lessons

All of those stories

Pregnant and continued

Like a canvas stretched across everything

Busy, alone, petrified, ecstatic

The secrets and the skeletons

I give you the freedom

To separate the difference

In the kingdom of no mirrors

By my side you stayed at Delphi

Rawboned and prosaic for me

The painful times of men and mice

There you were, apocryphal

Rounding the wrecked ships of the dream

My dreams

And, yes, it was there you found me

Life unhinged its jaw

Departed quickly

But you appeared

You returned

And I asked if I could tell you a secret

Saying: “I didn’t believe your promise

But you came”

And I asked you

“Would you stay and watch over me?”

“Would you stand in the doorway

Until morning comes?”

Poem written by author of this blog.

Leave a Reply

